Race Hiatus

Posted on

Since becoming a runner (read: a runner, not a racer) I have used races as a way to hold myself accountable.  On the days I did not feel like running (we’ve all had them) I would remind myself that I had paid money for a race, so I might as well train for it! It’s a great way to keep moving with your eye on the prize.

Recently, I have had to find a new way to keep motivated, and I found it somewhere I never thought it would be- inside me.  Yep, I keep myself motivated to run because I feel good when I run.  It’s as simple as that!  Who knew?!  I am taking a break of running races until September when I come back with a bang – the Dumbo Double Dare at Disneyland.  It is the Disneyland 10K and the Disneyland Half Marathon ran in the same weekend.  So I have something wonderful to look forward to!

Dumbo03

Until then, I will keep running.  There will be no bling.  There will be no spectators (unless you count my neighbors and countless dogs).  There will be no “official” PR’s.  There will be no after party.  What there will be is: me learning to love running even more.

The reason for my race hiatus?  Well, it’s a good one.  I am having my dream wedding.  I know, sounds cliché, but I promise you this truly is my dream wedding. It’s a small destination wedding and I could not be more excited!  When it came to registering for more races it really came down to the financial side of it.  It is hard to justify paying for races when I could use that money to help fund our wedding!  I will be able to run plenty of races down the road and this will be my 1 amazing wedding!

Not to mention, 2013 has already been AMAZING!  I ran the Tinker Bell Half Marathon and the Princess Half Marathon so I feel blessed!

IMG_6282

Amazing race medals for 2013!

I will be following all of YOU and the races you all do.  I want to hear all about them!

Leave a comment